About NEAS 2020

Since the early 2000s, we have seen explosive growth in Wake County and the surrounding area. In fact, three of the fastest growing communities in North Carolina are located in the area - Rolesville, Wake Forest, and Knightdale. As a new decade begins, an updated NEAS plan is needed to lay out a long-term vision for a multi-modal transportation network for the region. This will also include a detailed implementation strategy that includes short-term and mid-term recommendations to further that vision. 

Previously, in 2014, CAMPO completed the original Northeast Area Study. Designed to be a sustainable transportation strategy for the area, the original study evaluated land use, economic development, and multimodal (freight, highway, transit (bus/rail), bicycle, and pedestrian) issues in the northeastern section of CAMPO’s planning area. The Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (CAMPO) conducts area studies in order to achieve more robust public engagement and focus on specific network issues in smaller areas within its planning jurisdiction. Outcomes and recommendations from this NEAS Update will inform the 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan, which is a region-wide long-range transportation plan that is updated every 4 years. The current NEAS Update is anticipated to be completed in 2021.

Our Partners

The NEAS Update will be developed through a partnership between the Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (CAMPO), Wake and Franklin Counties, North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT), the City of Raleigh, and the Towns of Bunn, Franklinton, Knightdale, Rolesville, Wake Forest, Wendell, Youngsville, and Zebulon. 

franklin county.jpg
Knightdale Logo.png
Rolesville new logo.png
Wendell logo.png
Youngsville Main-logo.png
Zebulon logo.jpg
Campo Icon.png